Howth: The Sea and The Dog House

Howth: The Sea and The Dog House

Monday afternoon when Claire finishes up her work for the day she elects to take me on a trip to Howth. Brian offers to drive us to the train station so we can bypass the LUAS commute. Schools are letting out around this time so bundles of uniformed children and teens swipe their transit cards, run through the turnstiles, and cluster up in various spots on the platform. We purchase our tickets and climb up the stairs after them.

Across the tracks, I watch a group of teenage boys hanging out and teasing one another. It makes me reminiscent of high school. A few musicians carrying instrument cases and commuters with their noses in books join us and the students as we wait for the trains. Eventually our fast train to Howth arrives and we hop on for a scenic ride.

IMG_6310

The train station in Howth is surrounded by shops and restaurants that line the path to the water. We stop into a quaint souvenir shop that features unique woodwork pieces. I find some little wooden magnets carved in the shape of pine trees and shamrocks. Claire picks out some homemade baby booties for her nephew.

We continue down the paved sidewalk all the way to the end where the road meets the Irish Sea. I pace the wall for a little bit, soaking in the view before continuing up the road to the cliff walk.

IMG_6317

IMG_6315

IMG_6327

Up the road we pass various styles of homes stacked along the cliff. Some are apartments and condos. Some are actual houses whose yards are fenced and pour off to the literal cliff. I don’t think I could actually live in any of these houses. The hill becomes steeper the higher we walk and I’d be afraid to drive a car up it.

IMG_6330

IMG_6331

IMG_6337

With the Irish Sea to our left we continue up the paved road until it breaks off to a dirt path. A slightly sharper climb takes us to a hilltop where we look out to an astounding view of the water.

IMG_6340

Claire takes a phone-call from Joe about him resigning from a current position to focus on school. I hear her squeal a bit with joy as I wander around in some of the bushes up the hill.

IMG_6371

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Claire insists on taking some pictures of me wandering in the miscellaneous greenery (and even points out the names of some of the leaves– which I cannot remember because I am not a horticulturist like her). I grow little weary from the walk and we decide to head back down to find some dinner.

IMG_6372

“You have to have some real fish and chips by the sea while you’re in Ireland.” Claire has been insisting on throughout my trip. Now seems like a good opportunity. Walking up and down the restaurants, we turn back to a teal-tiled building. We fumble our way into Beshoff Bros and each order a cod. They’re made fresh and are piping hot. My mouth is salivating as I watch the lady at the counter make my box of fries and fish.

We sit down at a bench and open up our dinner boxes. Claire pastes her fish with tartar sauce and I start cutting mine into sections to let the steam release. Nevertheless, we still scald our tongues due to the mix of extreme temperature and hunger. It’s delicious.

After devouring the fish we take a little walk by the water and Claire tells me about this tea room that has couches and beds and all kinds of eclectic furniture to lounge around on. I definitely want to check it out so we head that way.

The Dog House Tea Room & Restaurant is the coziest little place I’ve ever seen. Outside on the patio are an array of colorful cushions, armchairs, benches and tables. Wooden beams still in the shape of trees are wrapped in lights. And, like Claire said, there is a bed in the middle of it all.

It’s a bit too chilly to sit outside comfortably with it being October, after all. So we head into the warm, glowing house. The inside is just as lovely. It’s a cluster of design and color. Rustic furniture continues and books line the walls surrounding a variety of tables. The arched ceiling is made of brick and has crafted stars and chandeliers hanging from it.

IMG_6402

Claire orders a pot of tea at the counter and then finds us a quiet corner to sit in by a little stove. I order a hot chocolate. The lady asks if I would like marshmallows on top. It’s a definite yes. While we wait for our drinks, we chat and admire all of the things surrounding us. To me it feels a bit like I’d imagine the Burrow to be.

IMG_6413

IMG_6400

IMG_6412

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After our tummies are warmed and we feel like falling asleep in our chairs by the stove, we realize it’s time to start making the journey back to Dublin. I would have liked to have stayed there all night sipping tea and staying warm by the fire. But, alas, we raise our tired selves and head back to the train station.

-CRCH

One thought on “Howth: The Sea and The Dog House

  1. I just reread your story. It seems to me like the beginning and end of an adventure story. The heroine starts out for the day normally, something happens before the Dog House Tea Room, then everything is resolved while she has hot chocolate with her friend. Hallmark could use you!😘

    Cheers, Mike

    >

Leave a comment