the beginning of my European adventure

I owned every second that this world could give
I saw so many places, the things that I did
With every broken bone, I swear I lived

No matter who you’re with, what you do, or what you experience- life can only be perceived to you in your own way. New experiences teach you things about yourself you would never know otherwise. Essentially, every adventure is your own. You can share parts of it- but it’s still something you’ll hold dear to your heart in your own personal way forever.


I don’t even know where to begin with this. I’ve been home from Europe for almost 4 days now and I’ve finally exited the cloud that is jetlag. My body was exhausted in such an unfamiliar way. It was kind of strange but nice at the same time.

But alas, reality beckons and it’s been a long time since I’ve written a blog post. So everyone who hasn’t been captured in spider webs or turned to ash while I was away, hello!

I do want to tell you about my adventures in Europe but it’s going to take multiple posts. It’ll be better that way, trust me. First let me give you a little background information.

I’ve wanted to go to Europe since I was in high school. Every year, one of our teachers would take a group of girls overseas for a summer trip and they’d come back with all these pictures and stories and it slowly sparked my interest. I thought I might study abroad in college, but that never really panned out with my courses. And to be honest, I’m a homebody. I’m not the spur-of-the-moment traveler and adventure type.

So after being out of school and working a big girl job for a year and a half, I started looking into ways to spend the vacation days I so patiently accrued. I was tired of waiting for someone to travel with and aligning days off with friends. (Once you’re out of school, no one’s schedules will ever be the same). I wanted to take a trip by myself- but not completely alone. I’m not great with directions and I had a fear of getting lost in some foreign country all by myself.

So I started looking for travel companies and found one that geared trips towards young adults (ages 18-28). They had a bunch of organized itineraries in a variety of countries on their site and it looked too good to be true. But it wasn’t! It turns out this is the same company my high school teacher uses to book her trips. In summary: it was legit. After a week or so of thinking and talking to my parents about it, I decided to do it.

My plane left for Amsterdam at the beginning of September.

To be continued…

CRCH


I Lived | One Republic

Leave a Reply

