Inspired by Sia

About ten years ago, Sia released her song “Breathe Me,” and somewhere along the line, I  took a natural liking to it. As I grew older, I  became more connected to the meaning and enchanting melody. But eventually, the song drifted to the back of my mind and I forgot about it for awhile.

Last November, (2013), The Hunger Games: Catching Fire movie was released and along with it, came a side-soundtrack. I listened to these songs (by popular artists that were inspired by the series) and really enjoyed them. To be honest, I had to replay them a few times before I obtained a genuine appreciation. As I listened over and over, there was one track that I was particularly drawn to. If you’re thinking “Elastic Heart,” you guessed it.

I’ve got thick skin and an elastic heart | But your blade, it may be too sharp | I’m like a rubber band until you pull too hard | I may snap and I move fast | But you won’t see me fall apart | ‘Cause I’ve got an elastic heart

As relatable as this song is to Katniss Everdeen, it spoke to me deeply. It touched my heart in ways that cannot be described by words and has helped me understand things about myself I wouldn’t have realized otherwise. This has become one of my favorite songs.

Last week, I stumbled across the music video for Sia’s new song, “Chandelier.” I initially heard about it via Dance Moms and knew Maddie Ziegler, one of the show’s stars, was selected to perform in it. The first time I watched it, I was confused. I had never heard the song before and struggled to figure out what was being portrayed. Was this about a little girl? Was she going insane? Was Maddie supposed to be a young Sia? After some analysis of the lyrics, I watched it again. About the third time, I was mesmerized. And now I’m hooked.

But I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down, won’t open my eyes | Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight

So what is it about Sia that draws me in? Is it her alluring voice? Is it her artistic display? Perhaps it’s her enticing lyrics that are hauntingly relatable. Since discovering “Chandelier,” I’ve not only re-listened to “Breathe Me,” but have been enjoying many of her other works. I  am determined to learn more from such a talented woman and appreciate all she has done for me so far.

CRCH

One Comment Add yours

  1. Gilberto says:

    You post very interesting content here. Your blog deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you,
    just search in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

