be positive or be quiet

Monday was a negative day at work. There were a lot of changes in our department and many of us were on edge. I approached the week optimistically; but as the day wore on, the atmosphere became worse. It was overwhelmingly dramatic and the issues were over-talked to death. It got to the point where this negativity was drowning me and I seriously panicked and questioned a lot of my life choices. All I wanted to do was run away from everything. So I prayed to God to help me find reasoning for the unfairness and went to bed feeling sick and uncharacteristically exhausted.

Tuesday morning, I woke up cold and extremely depressed. I practically fell out of bed and had no idea why I felt so tired and worn down. But something inside of me was determined to find good things about the day. Something was pushing me to try again- even though I still felt heavily attacked.

I pass an Episcopal church on my way to work each morning that has a sign out front. This sign usually has a random bible verses or quote on it that I typically just glance at as I drive by. Tuesday morning, I drove my usual route and read the sign. I was surprised to see 5 simple words on it: Be Positive or Be Quiet.

They struck me. Seeing those words, I felt like God was talking to me personally and telling me to just focus on being positive in every way I could. It was a simple request. I’m not saying it was easy. But it was simple. It immedietly made me feel like I wasn’t going to have to face the day on my own. I was given this instruction and I took it to heart. My mouth curved into a natural, genuine smile. And I even laughed to myself a little. Everything was going to be okay.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathy Mitchel says:

    Life would be much more pleasant if everyone
    adopted this motto.

  2. Caroline says:

    What a powerful message!!! Be positive or be quiet!

Leave a Reply

