Dr. Post

A few years ago, in my ‘Writing for New Technologies’ class, we were given a few days to create artistic pieces for our websites. Dr. Post was very adamant about us being hands-on with this, exploring texture and colors, and just having some fun. So that week, the computer lab was filled with crayons, paint, paper, glue, leaves, grass, flowers, etc. I remember running out to the front of Thompson and grabbing some sticks and leaves in the morning air before a rainstorm that first day. We scribbled and splattered over leaves and flowers, crunched up and tore paper, and glued objects in various patterns. I even drenched mine in watercolors just for the heck of it. At the time, I didn’t really care about what I was doing and just had fun doing the assignment and having a break in the schedule. (I never actually used the pictures on my website).
website shot

When our pieces dried a few days later, Dr. Post scanned them onto the computers and pulled them up on the projector for the class to see. I’ll never forget how passionate she was about our collages and paintings. She spoke so elaborately about the intricate designs we made and how fascinating it was that things can change so much just by being scanned from real life onto a computer screen. It was like watching a mother rave about her kindergartners’ art.

dirty

I have come close to deleting these pictures multiple times -but something always stopped me. I believe it’s the memories these pictures provide me- memories of such a motivational professor. I’m blessed to have known such a woman. She always brought a ray of light into our classroom with her smile an uplifting attitude. ALWAYS. There was never a day I got negative vibes from Dr. Post. She reminded me that it’s okay to have fun and be mindless and throw yourself out there. It’s okay to be positive in a world filled with so much negativity. And it’s okay to take time to explore your creativity and try new things. In the moment, it may seem scary or pointless. But I’m certain that all we do has a purpose down the line. The good, the bad, the mundane, the thrilling- it’s all for a reason.

ColleenFlowerEssence2

So thank you, Dr. Joanna Castner Post, for believing in all of your students and for pushing us to get involved with our passions. Thank you for all you’ve taught me- from web design, to rhetoric, to being a influential part of society. I am so blessed to have known you and to have called you my teacher.

May your soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

