Mustangs

Sometimes it’s interesting what God uses to grab your attention. Over the past week, I’ve been working on paying attention to little things throughout my day. Most people would say these are just typical happenstances. And maybe they are. But then again, I’m learning that a lot of what’s going on in the world has to do with the sole ideas and thoughts of human beings. So basically, it’s all fallible. Sometimes it may be good to listen. But a lot of people can’t even do that. So why bother trying to convince them otherwise? This is just where I’m coming from. Take it as you wish.

A few days ago there were two pastel-colored Mustangs in the left lane on the highway. One was green and the other, blue. At first I didn’t notice them prowling along in the traffic like the rest of the cars. But by the second or third glance, the colors really captured my attention. And it wasn’t just the obscure springtime/Easter shades that started me thinking. You see, whenever I see the colors blue and green next to each other, I think of one of my best friends-Claire. Growing up, we pretty much associated her with the color blue. It’s her favorite color and and there’s just this unspoken understanding that her color is blue. Likewise, my color is green.

From what I remember, these Mustangs were traveling close together for most of the time. The blue one was in front of the green one. In bumper-to-bumper traffic it’s common to be stuck near the same cars for most of your commute. But at the time, I didn’t think it was coincidental that these two cars were driving back to back. I thought that they’re probably going to the same place. Maybe the drivers are friends that have the same exact taste in cars. Intrigued, I did my best to scoot closer to them and my eyes went straight to the license plates. The green one had an Arkansas plate and the blue one had a Texas plate. The first idea that came to mind was that Claire’s going to Texas. She’s been applying to grad-schools all over the world. But I think this is God telling me she’s going there. Obviously, this is just a wild leap of faith throwing this out there. It may be true; it may not. But the important thing about this little blip is that I noticed the sign. Maybe I didn’t read it correctly. But I noticed it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Grandpa says:

    Let me know if your prediction is correct, about Claire?
    You’ve got me thinking about awarenesses, really cool!

Leave a Reply

