The Good Kind of Sore

So I’ve been sick for the past week. You know, the typical winter cold: clogged ears, body aches, multiple stages of nasal excretion, and the coveted sore throat. But that’s not the point of this post. The point is how this crud is cutting into the exercise aspect of my weekly routine.

I like to work out (at least) three times a week. Over the years, I’ve found that exercise is something I need to keep me positive. So you can imagine that being sick, (even if it’s just the occasional vertigo head spins), drags me down. The cloudy winter weather doesn’t help much either.

Tonight I entered the stir-crazy-cabin-fever-I-need-to-exercise-or-I’ll-punch-someone mode. Thus, I proceeded to the gym for an hour. It was the best decision I’ve made all week.

The whole work-out process (and the time after) is an experience of feelings and self-exhertion. You go from being covered in sweat and exhausted to excitement and achievement. And then once you’re all clean and curled up on the couch or in bed with a great book, you feel even MORE accomplished because you are READING without being told to!

And then you realize you are tired enough to sleep. So you do.
And your bed is truly your favorite thing in the whole wide world.

And when you wake up, you are sore.
But it’s the best kind of sore there is.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Perfectly captured. Yes. This.

  2. Sherryl says:

    Ahaa, its good dialogue concerning this article at this place at this website,
    I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

Leave a Reply

